Election 2024: Candidates and political trends in NA-142 Sahiwal

The name of National Assembly Constituency NA 142 from Sahiwal was NA 148 in Election 2018.

Written by: Arshad Farooq Butt

The name of National Assembly Constituency NA 142 from Sahiwal was NA 148 in Election 2018. The boundaries of this constituency for the seat of the National Assembly are as follows.

1. Following areas of Sahiwal Tehsil:

●Muhammad pur Qanungo Halqa
● Harappa Qanungo Halqa
●Nai Wala Qanungo halqa
● Dera Rahim Qanungo Halqa
● Sahiwal Qanungo Halqa (excluding the following Patwar Circle)
Chuck No. 78/5-R
Chuck No. 81/5-R
Chuck No. 90/9-L
The following Patwar Circles of Yusuf Wala Qanungo halqa:
●Chuck No. 78/5-L
● Chuck No. 80/5-L
● Chuck No. 111/9-L

2. Town Committee Kameer (Charge No. 13)
3. Town Committee Harappa (Charge No. 14)
4. The following areas of Tehsil Chichawatani
● Dad Fatiana Qanungo halqa
●Following Patwar Circles of Ghaziabad Qanungo halqa

Chuck No. 161/9-L
Chuck No. 162/9-L
Chuck No. 164/9-L
Chuck No. 173/9-L
Chuck No. 174/9-L
Chuck No. 12/11-L
Chuck No. 18/11-L
Chuck No. 20/11-L
Chuck No. 22/11-L

In NA-142, many political parties including Pakistan Muslim League-N, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf, Peoples Party and Jamaat-e-Islami will contest with their candidates in the election field. However, the final contest will be between two parties which include Pakistan Muslim League-N and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf.

Three important leaders of Pakistan Muslim League-N (PML-N), former MNA Chaudhry Zahid Iqbal, former MNA Chaudhry Muhammad Ashraf and Ayesha Arshad Khan Lodhi are present in this constituency.

According to analyst Salman Bashir, the two traditional rivals in NA-142 Sahiwal are Chaudhry Muhammad Ashraf and Maher Ghulam Fareed Kathia. Once Rana Tariq Javed was also successful as an independent candidate from this constituency and later he was elected as Tehsil Nazim Sahiwal.

In this constituency, the vote of the Arain community is more, followed by the local vote. Besides, due to stable financial position and being active in the current political scenario, the chances of Chaudhry Zahid Iqbal getting the PML-N ticket are high.

Chaudhry Muhammad Ashraf wants to hand over his political legacy to his daughter and son-in-law due to poor health. They are likely to get a seat in the provincial assembly or the Senate.

Lodhi family’s focus of interest has always been the provincial seat and in that they have been successful. Once late Arshad Lodhi participated in MNA election. Now his political heir Ayesha Arshad Khan is the effective voice of PML-N in this constituency and is campaigning at NA-142.

On behalf of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf, Chaudhry Asif and Malik Muhammad Yar Dhakko are present in this constituency. Malik Muhammad Yar Dhakko could not succeed in the 2018 election due to the large number of Arain votes in the constituency and some other reasons. Now his political position and plan of action are unclear. Chaudhry Asif is currently active in the current political scenario and there are strong chances of him getting the PTI ticket.

From other political parties, Meher Ghulam Fareed Kathia from People’s Party and Colonel retired Dr. Zarar Akbar from Jamaat-e-Islami can be candidates. Rana Tariq Javed can participate in the election from MML-Q.

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.